Rocking Chair Do-Over

A while back, I started having this desire to turn old furnitures into cute, bright, fresh furnitures after I had repainted a free >60 year old sewing machine table. So a few weeks ago, I decided that my brown living room (brown couches, brown coffee table, brown entertainment center… ) with some self-sewn blue-brown pillows needs a new splash of color.

Looking around the room, I quickly identified an easy repaint target: my 20 dollar craigslist find:

(yes, I made the cover for that stool!)

Inspired and encouraged by all the spray painting done by running with scissors, I decided to try my luck at spray painting. I bought 2 primer and 2 yellow paint spray from lowes, and a lacquer + brush from walmart. All made in incremental purchases since I had no idea I needed this much paint and layers on a chair.  Here is a picture of the chair after it had a few coats of primer:

It actually looks pretty nice as white, eh? I didnt bother with sanding the original coat, since it was quite old and I could not imagine myself hand sanding all the curves like I did for my table. Besides, I never had the patience to clean off the dusts properly and they end up sticking back to my paint. So all I did was use a wet towel and wiped down the chair. Then spray painted the chair and let dry between each spray. Amazingly, it stuck!

Anyway, I then sprayed it with yellow paint a few times (let dry between coats!)  until my cans are empty. Then I lacquered it a few layers until it is shiny (use a good brush, mine is crappy, so the hair keeps on falling out and getting stuck on the chair). Then lightly sanded it the lacquer coat to make it smooth. Now, I have a cute brand new chair:

I think the 3 different layers of stuff really paid off. Unlike my sewing table, the paint doesnt look like its going to peel off. Unlike the sewing table, it feels smooth, not sticky to the touch. However, I feel conflicted about using spray paint:

Pro: Fast, paint/brush does not get dirty, even coat is easier to achieve, quick try

Con: messy  (powder everywhere in my garage), expensive (3-4 dollar each can), and I think I get slightly high even in a ventilated area

So I am not sure if I would be using spray paint for my next chair re-vamp project. But for now, my cat Sophie loves laying there on a lazy afternoon (seriously, she loves this chair much more than before), so I say, project success!

6 thoughts on “Rocking Chair Do-Over

  1. The color matches Sophie so well too! No wonder she likes it so much. Haha, it complements her =) But seriously, man, that sounds like a lot of work =)

  2. Nice job! I also am ambivalent about spray paint. If you have paint powder all over your garage, imagine what is in your lungs (or did you wear a mask?)

  3. When can I drop my rocking chair by for a make-over? 😛

    Great job! I love that you painted it yellow. Very summery and happy. Knowing your house decor, I think the color is perfect!

  4. Redecorate Your Home Frugally Using Spray Paint
    Bring new life to your old things. You can lift your face to almost every item I used spray paint a big fan of the spray. It is easy to use paint and spray paint a beautiful result in all colors and many end. I like the satin finish projects best decorated house Flat and high, but shadows have the option to spray paint is my favorite of Krylon indoor / outdoor color will smoothly follow the surface dry in less than ten minutes and costs less than $ 3 per can at Wal – Mart.
    spray paint brown dress conversion to love of old pieces of furniture for children bedroom

    Items such as wood frame, glass shelves and furniture can make a new fresh coat of spray paint I’ve done this many items in my house and was thrilled with the results. Frame for glass and glass out of frame before you begin your project. Start with a little sanding wood with sandpaper. Sand all surfaces using light gentle stroke. Wood into the rough a little help on the surface color. Not to damage the wood with sandpaper crazy. No need to completely remove the original color or finish of
    After polishing, wipe it with scrap wood to dry thoroughly to remove any dust left contrary. Now you are ready to spray paint is best to do painting outside, if possible, all the spray paint is best used if many clothes. Follow the instructions on the spray paint is applied too thick can lead to a drop that will be contrary to repainted after two or three of clothing spray. paint should be sufficient to achieve the smooth finish. After the final coat dry project is completed. Unlike painting with the brush is not clean when using spray paint.

    more spraypaintcolors.blogspot.com/

Leave a comment